Aged Care Assessment Team

Waverley ACAT service provides a comprehensive age care assessment to clients and carers:

  • Aged over 65 years (> 50 yrs if Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander) who require assessment for commonwealth funded programs and require ACCR completion to assist them to remain at home or if required assess for residential care and or residential respite.
  • ACAT approval is required for services requiring an Aged Care Client Record (ACCR)

ACAT is not an emergency service. An important aspect of the Aged Care Assessment Team procedures and protocols is that the person being assessed be medically stable

Assessments for Commonwealth Funded Programs include:

  • Community Aged Care Packages (CACP)
  • Extended Aged Care At Home Packages (EACH)
  • Dementia Extended Aged Care at Home Packages (DEACH)
  • Residential Respite Low / High
  • Permanent Placement Low/ High
  • Transitional Aged Care program (TACP)


  • Comprehensive Assessment
  • Completion of Aged Care Client Record (ACCR)
  • Delegation for Transitional Aged Care Program (TACP)
  • Reclassification of care level e.g. Low to High reassessment

Registered Nurses, Social Workers, Administration

Home visits, team based at War Memorial Hospital

Clients to be medically stable for an ACAT Comprehensive assessment to be completed.

Referral required
Referral accepted from all sources

Referrals can be made by doctors, health professionals, ACAT, relatives, family members and even people themselves who meet the criteria by ringing the Northern Network Access Referral Centre
(NNARC) on 9369 0400


  • 65 years and over
  • 50 years and over if Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

Suburbs covered:
Bellevue Hill 2023      Bondi 2026                  Bondi Beach 2026
Bondi Junction 2022  Bronte 2024                Centennial Park 2011
Darlinghurst 2010     Darling Point 2027       Dawes Point 2000
Double Bay 2028       Dover Heights 2030    East Sydney 2010
Edgecliff 2027            Elizabeth Bay 2011     Kings Cross 2011
Millers Point 2000      Moore Park 2021         North Bondi 2026
Paddington 2021       Point Piper 2027          Potts Point 2011
Queens Park 2022     Rose Bay 2029            Rushcutters Bay 2011
Surry Hills 2010         Sydney City 2000         Tamarama 2026
The Rocks 2000         Vaucluse 2030             Watsons Bay 2030
Waverley 2024          Woolloomooloo 2011   Woollahra 2025